TJC's Osborne earns Player of the Year

Published on Saturday, 19 January 2013 01:00 - Written by Phil Hicks

Tyler Junior College’s Casey Osborne will be presented National Player of the Year honors by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America today at the organization’s annual banquet in Indianapolis, TJC soccer coach Steve Clements said.

It will be the third time an Apache has earned the coveted award. Roger DaCosta won in 2007, while Dom Dwyer earned the honor in 2010.

“This is a great honor for Casey and the Tyler Junior College program,” said Clements, who is also Coach of the Year for the West Region. “That is three times in the past decade we have had a player of the year.”

Osborne had four goals and four assists while playing centerback for the 2012 national championship TJC squad. The sophomore from Atlanta was named Most Valuable Player of the NJCAA National Tournament, which was held in Albany, Ga.

Osborne anchored a defense that allowed one goal through seven playoff games and just 11 all season. As a freshman he was named all-region and first-team All-America as well.

Osborne, Oneil Fisher, a sophomore midfielder from St. Catherine, Jamaica; Wayne Hall, a sophomore defender from Newcastle, England; and Christopher McGaughey, a sophomore goalkeeper from Armagh, Northern Ireland, were also named to the NJCAA All-America team.

Hall and McGaughey were first-team NJCAA, while Osborne, Fisher and McGaughey were first-team NSCAA. Hall was second-team on the NSCAA team.

Earning NSCAA All-West first-team were Osborne, McGaughey, Hall and Fisher.

TJC’s Alan Rovira, a sophomore midfielder from Simi Valley, Calif., was second-team All-West.