Heisman Town: Tyler's Manziel joins Campbell in winning honor

Published on Saturday, 8 December 2012 23:59 - Written by Phil Hicks

Tyler is known as the Rose Capital of the World, but now you can consider it a producer of Heisman Trophy winners.

On Saturday, Texas A&M’s Johnny Manziel became the second winner of the prestigious trophy who was born in the Rose City.

In 1977, Tylerite Earl Campbell, the Tyler Rose, won the Heisman Trophy while playing for the University of Texas.

While Tyler is not the only city with the most multiple Heisman winners, it certainly leads in per capita.

Dallas (TCU’s Davey O’Brien, SMU’s Doak Walker, Notre Dame’s Tim Brown), San Diego (Southern California’s Marcus Allen, Colorado’s Rashaan Salaam, Texas’ Ricky Williams) and Columbus, Ohio (Howard Cassady, Archie Griffin, Troy Smith, all Ohio State), have had three apiece.

But Tyler is right there with duo winners of Philadelphia (Penn State’s John Cappelletti, Ohio State’s Eddie George), St. Louis (Yale’s Clint Frank, Oklahoma’s Billy Sims), Los Angeles (Charles White, Mike Garrett, both USC), San Francisco (UCLA’s Gary Beban, USC’s O.J. Simpson) and Omaha, Neb. (Johnny Rodgers, Eric Crouch, both Nebraska).

Although a Longhorn, Campbell said it best on Saturday; there is always room for another Heisman winner in Tyler, Texas.

And who knows?

By winning as a freshman, could Johnny Football win three more? He certainly has the game for it. Ohio State’s Griffin is the only player to win two of the coveted trophies.

Manziel has plenty of supporters from his ties to Tyler, Kerrville, College Station and Texans and Aggies everywhere.