Haftu Knight cruises to cross country victory in Tyler Lee Classic

Published on Saturday, 9 September 2017 17:49 - Written by

Another Tyler Lee Classic, another runaway Haftu Knight win.

The Robert E. Lee junior crossed the line 27 seconds ahead of second-place finisher Nicholas Mosqueda from Mesquite to win the Varsity Boys Open race Saturday morning in the annual cross country event held at UT Tyler.

Knight’s time was 15 minutes and 32 seconds. Knight won last year’s Tyler Lee Classic by 15 seconds.

His efforts Saturday in the 5,000-meter race helped the Red Raiders take the team competition. Teammate Jack Gipson was 11th (16:46.45), Nick Knight was 13th (16:46.99), Ty Valdez was 18th (16:55), Trestan Valdez was 22nd (17:06) and Ben Watters was 47th (17:42).

North Mesquite was runner-up in the team competition as well with Palestine in third, Center in fourth and Sulphur Springs fifth.

A total of 182 runners competed in the Varsity Boys Open race, which was represented by 23 teams.

Joining Knight as a Top 10 finisher from East Texas was White Oak’s Dylan Harris (8th, 16:37) and Landon Thornton (9th, 16:40) from Sulphur Springs.


On the girls side of things, Troup’s Emily Neel won the Varsity Open 5K race in a time of 19 minutes and 16 seconds. Running unattached, Neel crossed the line 12 seconds ahead of Rachel Taylor, another unattached runner from Home School Athletics. Rockwall’s Liah Collins was third.

Tyler Lee sophomore Sarah Niedrauer was fifth in a time of 19:55. Anne Thompson (16th, 21:20), Sarah Hamlin (18th, 21:26), Caroline Lofquist (22, 21:45), Annelise Conaway (23, 21:48), Maddie Trimble (35th, 22:24) and Summer Dockery (44th, 22:38) helped the Lee girls finish second as a team.

Rockwall grabbed four of the Top 12 finishes to runaway with the team title. Mount Pleasant was third.

Complete results of the meet can be found at tx.milesplit.com.