Jacksonville's Session named ASB Player of the Week

Published on Tuesday, 14 November 2017 17:39 - Written by PHIL HICKS, phicks@tylerpaper.com

Knowing a win would clinch a playoff berth, Jacksonville quarterback Dontrail Session came through for the Indians.

Session tossed seven touchdown passes on Friday, leading Jacksonville to a 56-34 win over Nacogdoches and that victory a spot in the Class 5A playoffs.

For his efforts, Session was named the American State Bank Player of the Week for 11th of the high school football season, Tim Haugh, ASB vice president, announced.

Session connected of 13 of 16 passing attempts for 370 yards. His seven TD passes went to six different Indian receivers. Session also rushed for 35 yards.

Others receiving votes from all of the nominations received were: Xavius Fulton of Athens, Grace Community quarterback Braydon Stone and Kilgore running back Briant Mumphrey.

“Dontrail picked a really good time to have this type of game, as a playoff-berth was on the line for our team,” said Jacksonville head coach Wayne Coleman. “Throwing for seven TDs in the first half really took the pressure off the rest of the team coming out in the second half. With the lead we had, we were able to work on our ground game a little. And Dontrail is a great kid. He waited his turn to be quarterback, sitting the bench last season, and never lost faith for confidence. He is a great pocket passer. He is a really good student that the teachers just love and he is a great role model for the younger players in our program.”    

With Session winning the Week 11 ASB Player of the Week award, all 11 weekly winners will be recognized at the American State Bank Player of the Week banquet in January. One of those weekly winners will be named the ASB Player of the Year, and be pledged a $10,000 scholarship. All weekly winners will be pledged a $2.500 scholarship. All scholarships are good to the college, university or accredited trade school that the winner chooses to attend.

The ASB Player of the Week winners for 2017 were: Isaiah Haggerty (WR, Bishop Gorman), Garrett Moseley (QB, Van), Quindarius Johnson (RB, Winona), Jake Smith (QB, Bishop Gorman), Ty Crayton (WR/CB, Bullard), Khalan Griffin (QB, Chapel Hill), Cleet Bowman (QB, Bullard), Chance Amie (QB, Tyler Lee), KJ Kincade (QB/DB, Winona), McGwire Martin (QB, Canton) and Dontrail Session (QB, Jacksonville).