Commentary: Arp's Overshown on cover of Old Coach's Friday Night Football, the new kid on the block of HSFB preview magazines

Published on Tuesday, 25 July 2017 21:44 - Written by PHIL HICKS, Sports Columnist

Although high school football seems to be a year-round sport nowadays, the UIL says the first official day of conditioning begins on Aug. 7.

Where has the summer gone?

And, of course, volleyball gets underway even sooner on Aug. 1.

While Dave Campbell’s Texas Football Magazine, the Bible of Texas football, has been out for about a month, the new kid on the block, The Old Coach Friday Night Football Texas has hit the newsstands.

Included on the Fantastic Four cover is Arp defensive back DeMarvion Overshown.

The rising senior, who stands at 6-4 and weighs in at 200 pounds, is shown alongside Corpus Christi Calallen defense tackle Kenese Leomiti, Cibolo Steele safety Caden Sterns and Sweetwater quarterback Chris Thompson.

Overshown, who is listed as a DB, has played everything for the Tigers from defensive line to linebacker to safety.

The 2016 District 9-3A Division II Defensive Most Valuable Player had 170 tackles and five interceptions as a junior.

Overshown has made an oral commitment to Tom Herman at Texas.

Sterns decommitted to LSU and also picked Texas. His brother, Jordan Sterns, was an all-Big 12 safety at Oklahoma State.



A couple of East Texans earned first-team honors on offense of the Team Texas squad - Carthage running back Keaontay Ingram and Marshall offensive lineman Chasen Hines.

Overshown made the second team on defense.

On the Top 100 Seniors of 2018 list, Houston Lamar defensive back Anthony Cook is rated No. 1. Overshown is No. 8.

Other East Texans include: No. 22 Ingram; No. 48 Hines; No. 68 WR Jonathan Shepherd, Kilgore; No. 91 athlete Trae Hall, Henderson; and No. 98 LB Tre Allison, John Tyler.

Underclassmen to watch include: Texas High QB Coltin Clark; Jefferson WR T.Q. Jackson; Pittsburg QB Keontae Burns; Whitehouse WR Cameron Cantrell; Tenaha WR Jay Lloyd; Atlanta RB Jawan King; Robert E. Lee RB Ladarius Wickware; John Tyler OL Ja’Braylen Yarber; Elysian Fields OL Jade Ashalintubbi; Paris LB Vershaud Richardson; Liberty-Eylau LB Cedric Dickerson; Elysian Fields LB Tyrone Ratcliff; Lindale LB Dillon Heinaman; Hallsville DB Tristan Driggers; West Rusk athlete D.J. Hart and Corsicana athlete Blake Hoffman.



The magazine ranks the top teams in each classification.

Here are the top 10 and other East Texas teams:

Class 6A - 1, Allen; 2, Converse Judson; 3, Katy; 4, Cibolo Steele; 5, DeSoto; 6, Lake Travis; 7, Cedar Hill; 8, The Woodlands; 9, Austin Westlake; 10, Galena Park North Shore; 24, Longview; 30, John Tyler; 38, Lufkin.

Class 5A - 1, Manvel; 2, Aledo; 3, Denton Ryan; 4, Fort Bend Marshall; 5, Highland Park; 6, Corpus Christi Calallen; 7, Cedar Park; 8, College Station; 9, Lancaster; 10, Richmond Foster; 22, Marshall; 30, Texas High.

Class 4A (Division I) - 1, Carthage; 2, Waco La Vega; 3, Midlothian Heritage; 4, China Spring; 5, Argyle; 6, Kennedale; 7, Kilgore; 8, Van; 9, Abilene Wylie; 10, Andrews; 13, Paris; 14, Henderson; 15, Liberty-Eylau.

Class 4A (Division II) - 1, Cuero; 2, West Orange-Stark; 3, Celina; 4, Gilmer; 5, Monahans; 6, Wimberley; 7, Giddings; 8, Jasper; 9, Sweetwater; 10, Robinson; 12, Gladewater; 14, Texarkana Pleasant Grove; 22, Tatum.

Class 3A (Division I) - 1, Cameron Yoe; 2, Yoakum; 3, Rockdale; 4, Jefferson; 5, Brock; 6, La Marque; 7, Wall; 8, Halletsville; 9, Pottsboro; 10, Teague; 11, Mineola; 18, Malakoff; 19, White Oak.

Class 3A (Division II) - 1,Newton; 2, Gunter; 3, Lexington; 4, East Bernard; 5, Canadian; 6, Elysian Fields; 7, Sonora; 8, Arp; 9, Boling; 10, Clifton; 11, Hooks; 13, Harmony; 14, Crockett; 15, Edgewood; 17, Buffalo; 25, West Rusk.

Class 2A (Division I) - 1, Refugio; 2, Crawford; 3, Abernathy; 4, Mart; 5, Groveton; 6, Mason; 7, Alto; 8, Hawley; 9, Centerville; 10, Goldthwaite; 17, Carlisle; 20, Union Grove; 25, Big Sandy.

Class 2A (Division II) - 1, Tenaha; 2, Albany; 3, Burton; 4, Bremond; 5, Muenster; 6, Wellington; 7, Falls City; 8, Munday; 9, Iraan; 10, D’Hanis; 16, Overton; 17, Maud.