OU's Mayfield, KU's Armstrong Big 12 preseason top players

Published on Wednesday, 12 July 2017 21:31 - Written by

Staff, Wire Reports

IRVING - Oklahoma senior quarterback Baker Mayfield and Kansas junior defensive end Dorance Armstrong Jr. have been named the preseason Big 12 players of the year.

The Big 12 preseason honors released Wednesday were selected by media who cover the 10-team league.

Mayfield, of Austin, was a Heisman Trophy finalist last season, when he completed 71 percent of his passes for 3,965 yards with 40 touchdowns and eight interceptions. The former Texas Tech walk-on from Lake Travis High School has led the Sooners to the last two Big 12 titles and finished last season with a Sugar Bowl victory over Auburn.

Armstrong, of Houston, last season had 10 sacks and led the Big 12 with 20 tackles for loss. The Galena Park North Short graduate also forced three fumbles and recovered two fumbles.

Former Florida quarterback Will Grier, who will make his West Virginia debut as a junior this season, was picked as the Big 12's top newcomer. Grier is from Davidson, North Carolina.

Texas Tech wide receiver Keke Coutee, of Lufkin, is on the first-team offense, while TCU linebacker Travin Howard, of Longview, is on the defense.

Joining Mayfield and Coutee on the offensive preseason team are: running backs Justice Hill of Oklahoma State (Tulsa, Oklahoma) and Justin Crawford of West Virginia (Columbus, Georgia); fullback Winston Dimel of Kansas State (Manhattan, Kansas); wide receivers James Washington of Oklahoma State (Stamford) and Allen Lazard of Iowa State (Urbandale, Iowa); tight end Mark Andrews of Oklahoma (Scottsdale, Arizona); offensive linemen Orlando Brown of Oklahoma (Duluth, Georgia), Connor Williams of Texas (Coppell), Dalton Risner of Kansas State (Wiggins, Colorado), Austin Schlottmann of TCU (Brenham) and Zach Crabtree of Oklahoma State (Mansfield); placekicker Clayton Hatfield of Texas Tech (Boerne) and kick/punt returner KaVontae Turpin of TCU (Monroe, Louisiana).

Joining Armstrong and Howard on the defense include: defensive linemen K.J. Smith of Baylor (Frisco), Reggie Walker of Kansas State (Ponchatoula, Louisiana), Poona Ford of Texas (Hilton Head, South Carolina) and Malcolm Roach of Texas (Baton Rouge, Louisiana); linebackers Ogbonnia Okoronkwo of Oklahoma (Houston) and Malik Jefferson of Texas (Mesquite); defensive backs D.J. Reed of Kansas State (Bakersfield, California), Jordan Thomas of Oklahoma (Klein), Tre Flowers of Oklahoma State (Converse), Kamari Cotton-Moya of Iowa State (Bakersfield) and Nick Orr of TCU (DeSoto) and punter Michael Dickson of Texas (Sydney, Australia).