Whitehouse's Neal named 17-5A boys basketball MVP

Published on Tuesday, 14 March 2017 19:41 - Written by

After guiding his team to a runner-up finish in District 17-5A, Whitehouse junior point guard Javier Neal was named the league’s Most Valuable Player.

Neal highlighted the all-District 17-5A boys basketball team, which also included his Whitehouse coach, Brent Kelley, who shared Coach of the Year honors with Nacogdoches’ Gary Hall.

The Dragons finished first in 17-5A and tallied the most superlatives. Seniors Jordan Upshaw and Blake Upshaw were named Offensive MVP and Defensive MVP, respectively.

Ennis sophomore Dylan Wright was chosen as Newcomer of the Year.

Corsicana finished third in the league while Jacksonville took the fourth and final playoff spot.

Whitehouse tied Corsicana with the most first-team selections as senior Colby Duhon and junior McKade Marquis earned the honor for the Wildcats.

Jacksonville senior Cameron High, Lindale sophomore Dillon Heinaman and Nacogdoches junior Tycolby Carraway were also on the eight-man first team.

Three Indians earned spots on the second team: senior D’Montrey Christopher, junior Jaeshun Bush Jr. and sophomore Deshawn McCuin. Nacogdoches senior Deston Sanyude and junior Nick Smith also earned second-team honors.

Whitehouse junior Jackson Mahomes garnered second-team recognition. Wildcats senior Zach Parker earned honorable mention.


All-District 17-5A Boys Basketball Team

Most Valuable Player: Javier Neal, Jr., Whitehouse

Offensive MVP: Jordan Upshaw, Sr., Nacogdoches

Defensive MVP: Blake Upshaw, Sr., Nacogdoches

Newcomer of the Year: Dylan Wright, Soph., Ennis

Co-Coaches of the Year: Gary Hall, Nacogdoches; Brent Kelley, Whitehouse

First Team

Tyler Donaldson, Sr., Corsicana; Devon Lindsey, Soph., Corsicana; Brandon Anderson, Sr., Ennis; Cameron High, Sr., Jacksonville; Dillon Heinaman, Soph., Lindale; Tycolby Carraway, Jr., Nacogdoches; Colby Duhon, Sr., Whitehouse; McKade Marquis, Jr., Whitehouse

Second Team

Connor Hutchins, Jr., Corsicana; Eugene White, Sr., Ennis; Deshawn McCuin, Soph., Jacksonville; D’Montrey Christopher, Sr., Jacksonville; Jaeshun Bush Jr., Jr., Jacksonville; Nick Smith, Jr., Nacogdoches; Deston Sanyude, Sr., Nacogdoches; Jackson Mahomes, Jr., Whitehouse