East Texans: Whitehouse's House earns all-state

Published on Sunday, 6 August 2017 23:31 - Written by PHIL HICKS, phicks@tylerpaper.com

Whitehouse standout Mason House, a two-time All-East Texas Player of the Year, was named a first-team outfielder on the Collin Street Bakery/Texas Sports Writers Association’s Class 5A All-State Baseball Team, the association announced from Bryan on Sunday.

House hit .406 for the 22-7-1 Wildcats and was drafted by the San Diego Padres in the third round of June’s draft. He had committed to Oklahoma State but elected to sign with the Padres.

The 6-3, 190-pound outfielder is playing for the Arizona League Padres’ rookie team in Peoria, Arizona. After 17 games he is hitting .299 with three doubles, two triples and a home run.

Also on the Class 5A squad was Marshall’s Cam Haller, who earned a designated hitter first-team spot and third team selection as a catcher. He hit .417 with eight home runs and 24 RBIs. He has signed with Texas A&M.

Area players that were honorable mention were: senior pitcher Corbin Hall of Corsicana, junior pitcher Cooper Rawls of Hallsville and junior second baseman Colton Oney of Hallsville.

Port Neches-Groves junior pitcher Josh Hranicky (11-2, 1.69 ERA) was named 5A Player of the Year with Port Neches-Groves’ Scott Carter being tabbed Coach of the Year. Carter led the Indians to a 34-8-1 record and the state championship.



Deer Park senior pitcher Clay Aguilar and Rockwall-Heath senior outfielder Canaan Smith shared Player of the Year honors on the Class 6A team.

Aguilar, who signed with the University of Houston, helped Deer Park to the state title with a 9-1 record capped by being the winning pitcher in the 7-2 victory over San Antonio Reagan in the state championship game. Aguilar won a trio of elimination games to help Deer Park reach the state tournament.

Smith, who signed with the New York Yankees after being a fourth-round pick, batted .426 with 37 runs batted in along with 57 walks. He had 19 extra base hits for a .737 slugging percentage, striking out only six times.

Deer Park’s Chris Rupp was named Coach of the Year after leading the Deer to a 35-8 record and the state championship.

Area players on the 6A squad were relief pitcher Dylan Murphy, a senior from Lufkin, on the third team and third baseman Jake Fidler, a junior from Longview, on the honorable mention squad.



Six East Texans earned spots on the first and second team of the Class 4A squad.

Senior pitcher Caleb Bolden of Texarkana Pleasant Grove was on the first team, with senior pitcher Tyler Jeans of Pleasant Grove, senior pitcher Collin Pippen of Kilgore, senior catcher Kyle Lovelace of Lufkin Hudson, senior second baseman Cade Thompson of Pleasant Grove and junior outfielder Keylon Mack of Gladewater on the second team.

Junior pitcher Connor Carlton of Abilene Wylie was named Player of the Year. He was 12-0 with a 0.42 ERA.

Abilene Wylie’s Clay Martin was named Coach of the Year after leading the Bulldogs to a 35-1 record and the state championship.

Honorable mention from East Texas were: Kilgore junior pitcher Javan Smitherman, Van senior shortstop Jacoby Bogue, Pleasant Grove senior shortstop Caleb Bolden, Lufkin Hudson senior shortstop J.T. Penick, Athens senior Cameron Woodard, Kilgore sophomore outfielder Deuce Ervin and Canton sophomore outfielder Simon Miller.



East Texans, led by state champion Nacogdoches Central Heights, dominated the Class 3A all-state team.

Nacogdoches Central Heights junior pitcher/shortstop Grayson Rodriguez was tabbed Player of the Year. On the mound he was 14-1 with a 0.38 ERA and at the plate he hit .511 with 53 RBIs.

Central Heights’ Travis Jackson was selected Coach of the Year after guiding the Blue Devils to the state title with a 37-2 record.

Rodriguez earned a first-team spot as shortstop. Teammates on the first team were sophomore pitcher Rowan Arrant and senior catcher Cade Watson. Rodriguez was also honorable mention pitcher.

Other players from the Piney Woods on the top squad were New Diana senior pitcher Tristan Swain, Beckville junior relief pitcher Trey Lindsay, Hughes Springs junior outfielder Riley McKinney, Frankston senior outfielder T.J. Brumley and junior designated hitter Will Shawn.

Second-teamers were Troup freshman relief pitcher Wyatt Wood, Pollok Central sophomore outfielder Jacob Davis and Edgewood senior designated hitter Tye Elie.

Making the third team were Edgewood junior pitcher Turner Bannister, Beckville junior pitcher Ethan Harris, New Diana junior pitcher Jacob Burton and New Diana senior outfielder Lane Meshell.

East Texas honorable mention candidates were Beckville junior pitcher Zeke Collins, Harmony senior pitcher Easton Blackstone, Beckville junior Ben Bridges, Pollok Central’s Davis at catcher, Troup junior first baseman Jones Ard, Elysian Fields senior first baseman Cole Silliman, Beckville senior second baseman Zach Collins, New Diana’s Burton at shortstop, White Oak junior shortstop Heath Hood, Central Heights junior shortstop Cade McCarty, Harmony junior shortstop J.P. Powers, New Diana’s Swain at shortstop, Central Heights’ Arrant at third base, Beckville’s Harris in the outfield, Corsicana Mildred junior outfielder Wesley Huitt, Eustace junior outfielder Cory Shrawn and White Oak sophomore outfield Dalton Sumrow.



A number of East Texans were on the Class 2A squad including first-teamers Tate Engel, a sophomore third baseman, of Kerens; and Garrett Kilcrease, a junior outfielder, of Kerens.

Parker McGrew, a senior pitcher/outfielder, of Muenster, was named Player of the Year. He was 12-0 with a .381 batting average, along with 34 RBIs.

Josh Wheeler, of Muenster, was named Coach of the Year after leading the Hornets to a 33-2 record and the state title.

Second-teamers from the area include: Kerens junior pitcher Stacey Bailey, Kerens junior relief pitcher Cayden Henderson, Groveton senior second baseman Glenn Thornton and Woden junior third baseman Drew Shifflet.

Third-team honors went to Overton senior pitcher Gavin Flanagan, Groveton junior pitcher and second baseman Haden Terry, Woden senior first baseman Zach Goree, Martin’s Mill senior outfielder Paxton Nicodemus, Overton senior outfielder Nick Croteau and Kerens senior designated hitter Mitchell Solis.

Area honorable mention candidates were: Woden’s Shifflet at pitcher, Groveton’s Thornton at pitcher, Kerens’ Bailey at catcher, Kerens’ Henderson at second base, Groveton senior shortstop Chance Coker, Eustace junior second baseman Hayden Shaddox, Union Grove junior shortstop Tanner Stanley, New Summerfield sophomore outfielder Brandon Chavarria, Alto senior outfielder Nolan Collins and Eustace junior outfielder Cody Strawn.



Trinidad junior first baseman Johnny Ayala earned first-team honors on the Class 1A squad.

Trojan teammate Jayden Garcia, a senior second baseman, was on the second team while Union Hill freshman Trever Tidball, who helped the Bulldogs reach the state title game, was a second-team third baseman.

Abbott senior pitcher/shortstop Brent Mynar (6-1, 1.36 ERA and a .378 batting average with 33 RBIs) was named Player of the Year.

Kyle Crawford of Abbott was tabbed Coach of the Year. He led the Panthers to a 29-3-1 record and the state championship.

For the entire team please see ETFinalScore.com.