Lee catcher Kade Keener voted 11-6A Defensive MVP

Published on Wednesday, 31 May 2017 18:23 - Written by

In his first year as a varsity catcher, Robert E. Lee senior Kade Keener made an impression. Keener threw out 14 of the 20 baserunners who tried to test him by attempting to steal. The rest of the coaches did not forget and voted Keener Defensive MVP for All-District 11-6A baseball team.

Keener allowed only seven passed balls in 97 2/3 innings behind the plate for the Red Raiders.

The Lee catcher was joined on the all-district team by several REL teammates, who played a big role in the Red Raiders finishing third this season and returning to the playoffs after missing out a year ago. Named to the first team were junior pitcher Bradley Rippy, junior infielder Rhett Parker and sophomore designated hitter Angel Rodriguez.

Rippy went 5-3 in league play for the Red Raiders with a 2.39 ERA in 41 innings, allowing 22 hits with 56 strikeouts in eight appearances.

Parker batted .365 in district for REL with five doubles, two triples, 13 runs scored and 19 driven in. He was also 3 for 3 on stolen bases.

Rodriguez was the engine that powered REL’s offense in district play, finishing with a team-high .480 average with nine RBIs.

Receiving second-team honors was junior pitcher Matthew Hittle and junior outfielder Zach Fernandez. Hittle was 4-2 in district with a 2.93 ERA and 25 strikeouts while Fernandez had 39 putouts in center field while also batting .320.

Lee senior first baseman Daniel Nick was chosen honorable mention.

Rockwall pitcher Brooks Heimer was named Most Valuable Player with Will Frizzell, also from Rockwall, named Offensive MVP. Rockwall-Heath’s Chandler Mauldin was Pitcher of the Year and Mesquite’s Shea Ellis was voted Newcomer of the Year.

Heath’s Cole Stillwell was the Underclassman of the Year with his coach, Greg Harvey, named Coach of the Year.


All-District 11-6A Baseball Team


Most Valuable Player: Brooks Heimer, Rockwall

Offensive MVP: Will Frizzell, Rockwall

Defensive MVP: Kade Keener, Robert E. Lee

Newcomer of the Year: Shea Ellis, Mesquite

Underclassman of the Year: Cole Stillwell, Rockwall-Heath

Coach of the Year: Greg Harvey, Rockwall-Heath


First Team

Pitchers: Diego Muniz, Rockwall; Kaden Krowka, Rockwall-Heath; Bradley Rippy, Robert E. Lee

Catcher: Tyler Riebock, Rockwall

Infielders: Josh Thurman, Rockwall-Heath (1B); Rhett Parker, Robert E. Lee (2B); Arturo Gaytan, North Mesquite (SS); Asher Cannon, Rockwall-Heath (3B)

Outfielders: Alex Vigil, North Mesquite; Jake Wade, Rockwall-Heath; Canaan Smith, Rockwall-Heath; Alan Caceras, Mesquite Horn

DH: Angel Rodriguez, Robert E. Lee

Utility: Braedon Bomer, North Mesquite


Second Team

Pitchers: Jonta Brown, Mesquite; Matt Hittle, Robert E. Lee; Antonio Ulloa, North Mesquite

Catcher: Garrett Hardage, North Mesquite

Infielders: Justin Childers, Rockwall (1B); Cody Cleveland, Rockwall-Heath (2B); Beau Wimpee, Rockwall (SS); Jade Fidler, Longview (3B)

Outfielders: Julio Lopez, Mesquite; Zach Fernandez, Robert E. Lee; Zane Sloan, Rockwall

DH: Chris Teufel, Rockwall-Heath

Utility: Dillon Owens, North Mesquite