UIL State Soccer All-Tournament

Published on Sunday, 16 April 2017 20:40 - Written by

GEORGETOWN - Four members of the state champion Kilgore Bulldogs were named to the UIL Soccer State All-Tournament team, the Texas Association of Soccer Coaches announced on Sunday.

Also, two members of the Athens Lady Hornets, a state semifinalist, also were on the squad - Raygan Young and Kyra Robison.

Kaleb Jett, Kilgore’s goalkeeper, was named the Most Valuable Player of the Class 4A Tournament.

The junior was joined by teammates sophomore forward Elian Torres, senior midfielder Yonatan Contreras and senior defender Mateo Meraz.

Kilgore won the state championship on Friday, a 3-2 win over Bridgeport. The Bulldogs captured the title with a 4-2 shootout victory. Kilgore advanced to the final with a 4-0 semifinal victory over Houston Washington on Wednesday.

Others on the 4A squad were Bridgeport juniors Miguel Olmos (midfielder), Eric Aguilar (midfielder) and Juan Amador (forward); Progreso juniors Anthony Vasquez (defender) and Fabrizzio Gonzalez (midfielder); and Houston Washington sophomore defender Nelvin Bonilla and junior forward Lester Valeriano.

Stephenville dominated the Class 4A girls team. Savannah Alford was named the MVP. She is a senior defender. Others from Stephenville were three freshmen - forward Ciara Johnston, midfielder Haleigh Beam and defender Beatris Chavarria.

Young is a senior defender, while Robison is a senior forward for Athens. Stephenville edged Athens 2-0 in the state semifinals. Stephenville then defeated Boerne 2-1 in the title game.

Other members of the girls’ 4A all-tournament squad were Jasper juniors Julie Carter (forward) and Ezra Lovett (midfielder); Boerne seniors Melissa Fernandez (midfielder), Paige Marcell (forward) and Halee Hurt (defender).

MVPs were selected by the media covering the state tournament, while the Texas Association of Soccer Coaches selected other all-tournament members.