Brownsboro's Jones voted District 17-3A MVP

Published on Sunday, 22 April 2012 00:43 - Written by

Brownsboro senior Nick Jones was voted Most Valuable Player of District 17-3A basketball, the league’s coaches announced.

Jones, who signed to play football at the University of Louisiana-Monroe, led the Bears by averaging 19.3 points per game. He also is tops in East Texas with an average of 5.3 blocks. He led the East Texas area with 12.7 rebounds per game.

Chapel Hill’s Michael Harris earned Offensive Player of the Year honors, with Tyler Grabski, of Bullard, named Defensive Player of the Year.

Anthony Sanders of Athens was tabbed Sophomore of the Year and David Overstreet of Rusk was tabbed Newcomer of the Year.

Tracy Carter, of Athens, was named Coach of the Year.

Brownsboro and Athens shared the district title.


2011-12 All-District 17-3A Basketball Team

Most Valuable Player — Nick Jones, Sr., Brownsboro

Offensive Player of the Year — Michael Harris, Jr., Chapel Hill

Defensive Player of the Year — Tyler Grabski, Sr., Bullard

Sophomore of Year — Anthony Sanders, Athens

Newcomer of Year — David Overstreet, Jr., Rusk

Coach of the Year — Tracy Carter Athens

First Team

Zach Basher, Sr., Athens

Terrance Behan, Sr., Athens

Anthony Taylor, Jr., Athens

DaVonte Givens, Jr., Brownsboro

Patrick McCarthy, Jr.,Brownsboro

Blake Ralson, Jr., Brownsboro

Scott Lowrie, Sr., Bullard

Taft Rose, Sr., Bullard

Anthony Kincade, Sr., Chapel Hill

Andrew Tucker, Sr., Chapel Hill

Second Team

Patrick Clark, Sr., Athens

Keauntis Thompson, Sr., Brownsboro

Cameron Hallford, Sr., Bullard

Chandler Clark, Jr., Bullard

Avery Henderson, Sr., Chapel Hill

Julius Hill, Jr. Chapel Hill

D. J. Sammons, Jr., Chapel Hill

Chaston Bennett, Jr., Rusk

Michael Pyle, Sr., Rusk

Honorable Mention: Brownsboro: Will Bailey, Fr., Jared Bragdon, Soph.